Take a Moment…

Take a moment to feel yourself breathing, to hear your heart beating. Don’t be in too much of a hurry that you don’t smell the freshly cut grass as you walk down your street. Don’t eat so fast that you don’t taste the food you’re eating. Take a moment to appreciate, to say thanks, to smile, to laugh. And be thankful that you can read this. There are many people around the world who can’t. Imagine living in a world of darkness. If I had to lose all my senses but one, I’d prefer to keep my sense of sight. Not being able to read would kill me.

The reason I’m writing this post is because on her Facebook page, Ashley has made a decision to find something to be grateful for every day (for the next few days). And I think it’s a fantastic idea. Many of us go through life with our eyes closed. And we forget all too fast. One day we might want something so much it hurts. Once we get that thing, we’re happy for a moment and then we forget and move on to the next desire.

So, what am I thankful for today,

My healthy baby daughter, a husband who supports my passion for writing, my friends (especially Ashley, who has come to mean so much to me), my family, this cheese cake I’m eating right now, a warm bed in winter…and so much more.

How about you? What are you grateful for?

Liz

Leave a Reply

